Self Love Chronicles: Love Languages Applied

Going into February, I challenged myself to be intentionally happy each day by purposely indulging in the things that bring a smile to my face (within healthy reasoning, of course), being present to all that is around me, and embracing each moment experienced. That challenge made me think of my 5 love languages and how I am such a stickler on them in my dating life. When utilized correctly, they each make me happy in some way, and so I thought to myself, 'Is it possible to apply them on myself?!'

Well, since I know that all things are possible through God and when I put my mind to something, I concluded that for the month of March, and hopefully beyond, I will intentionally apply my love languages onto myself on a daily basis.

For those of you who do not know what the 5 Love Languages are, it was created by

Dr. Gary Chapman who coined the phrase, "Love is a choice you make everyday," and since I definitely believe that to be true, and am very much aligned with the Love Languages he has presented, I decided to research them a bit more. I am totally bought into his concept of how love can be expressed to your mate, and that is why I am further convinced that I can and should apply them to myself as well. The 5 Love Languages are as follows:

  • Words of Affirmation - Uses words to affirm other people

  • Acts of Service- Actions speak louder than words

  • Receiving Gifts- What makes them feel most loved is to receive a gift

  • Quality Time- Giving the other person your attention

  • Physical Touch- Nothing speaks more deeply than appropriate touch

There are quizzes you can take on the site if you are single, in a relationship, etc., and interestingly enough, my results came out differently as a single woman vs when I am in a relationship. Take a look below:

Me (currently single):

  • Receiving Gifts- I DO love gifting myself & celebrating all small wins

  • Words of Affirmation- I speak affirming words over myself & read motivational quotes

  • Quality Time- While on my journey, I have come to really love my "me time"

  • Physical Touch- I love taking bubble baths or treating myself to a great massage

  • Acts of Service- I have grown to love helping others more while on my self- love journey

Me (when in a relationship):

  • Words of Affirmation- I love when my partner compliments me or expresses emotions

  • Physical Touch- I love kissing & when my partner and I are physically intimate

  • Acts of Service- I love when my partners runs an errand for me or fixing stuff up

  • Quality Time- I love making and spending time with my partner

  • Receiving Gifts- I love receiving random yet intentional gifts from my partner

It turns out that I really love gifting myself and when in a relationship, I need to know how my partner is feeling about me and for me to be complimented. I find it very interesting to see how I choose to love myself and how I choose to be loved by others.

During the last two weeks of February, I chose to apply my love language results on myself, and by doing so, I accomplished the following highlights:

  • Physical Touch- Maintaining my weekly "Self- Care Saturday" evening bubble baths

  • Acts of Service- I gifted many friends with random yet very intentional gifts

  • Words of Affirmation- Shared videos, quotes, or Scriptures with friends & family

  • Quality Time- I have allowed my self to have a few lazy days & took off on snow days

  • Receiving Gifts- I gift myself every week through therapy, which assists me greatly

Since intentionally applying my love languages onto myself, I have found that almost on a daily basis, I am being reminded how the Law of Attraction works. I say this because I began to realize how when I began the love language application onto myself, I began to attract more of the things I love in my life. It's almost like God was purposely giving me more things to be grateful for as a reward for FINALLY loving on myself more. All, if not most of what I have been putting back into myself and out into the Universe, has been coming back to me in subtle, yet profound ways, and for that I remain grateful and faithful to my process.

So, I now challenge you to take the love language quiz, and apply your results onto yourself. I promise you, your mental, spiritual, emotional, and physical health, will thank you for it.

No matter what, never forget to:

Be Audacious.

Be Fearless.

Be Intentional.


Lead with Love.


Love Always,

Your Dope Colorful Dreamer,

Myrna 🙏🏾💜

72 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All